View Full Version: Strange Emails...

Zoids Evolution Forums > Computers and Technology > Strange Emails...



Title: Strange Emails...


Zelos - January 13, 2006 04:10 AM (GMT)
Okay, lately I've been getting some really weird Emails on my secondary email account. Namely, there are two of them in my mailbox right now, but there have been others before that went to my spam folder and were deleted.

One of them is:

QUOTE
From: xdetr5uwquz@zzapp.org <xdetr5uwquz@zzapp.org>
Date: Jan 12, 2006 3:17 PM
Subject: "appear"
Body:
"Content-Type: text/plain;
Content-Transfer-Encoding: 7Bit

god"

And the other is:

QUOTE
From: luq4jvn@wac.com <luq4jvn@wac.com>
Date: Jan 12, 2006 9:38 PM
Subject: "conduct"
Body:
"Content-Type: text/plain;
Content-Transfer-Encoding: 7Bit

hard"

From looking up the "Content" things, I see those are supposed to be hidden in emails and not visible, but what's up with the "god" and "hard" part? And "appear" and "conduct"? Just who are these people, is this some automated system that's screwing up?

Maybe its a secret message of some kind, like:

"God" "Appear" > God Appears
"Conduct" "Hard" > Conducts Hard

All to > God appears and conducts hard.

Or maybe I'm just overanalyzing things as I'm also trying to unravel a mystery that's sprung up in the Myst fan community at the same time...

Maybe I should try replying to them and seeing what happens :D

ZeRoRaVeN - January 13, 2006 04:47 AM (GMT)
Looks like a typical email sent by a spammer as part of a search for email addresses. Not good, I predict that your email account will get slammed by spam next. Usually spammers send out emails blank or with little or no words to random emails and then using a program which automates the process. Any email address that return a sender not found by the postmaster is marked down as available and those that aren’t are usually valid email accounts which then proceed to spam.

They’re been some techniques against this on a server level being developed such as to stopped sending recipient not found errors to a certain sender after they send too many invalid emails…but oh well…

Zelos - January 13, 2006 05:03 AM (GMT)
It's just my secondary email so if I have to get a new one it wouldn't hurt me that much as I can only think of about three sites I use it at *shrugs*

Off-Topic: Ooh, this Myst stuff is really interesting... Mysterious posts from one of the staff who hasn't been seen for nearly two years... *Has just started reading the Myst books, which are awesome, and playing Uru, which is also awesome, so is now in a Myst craze*

Scottfab - January 13, 2006 08:51 AM (GMT)
You mean they kept Myst alive all this time?

Hetman - January 13, 2006 02:04 PM (GMT)
http://www.zzapp.org/
http://www.wac.com/

The first one is a private server and the second one is a ISP. Interesting. :ph43r:

Try giving the ISP a message.

Capitila - January 13, 2006 03:57 PM (GMT)
Try opening them up in a different email client, like Outlook Express or Thunderbird. It's probably just a type of spam that doesn't work anymore, or a worm that's deformed over time and what you're getting is the retarded inbred version of it. Judging by the email addresses it's pretty safe to assume it's just spam, although there's been some spam sent out which involved distorted passages from the Bible and inspirational messages, at some point it might of made sense, but to most people it's just paragraphs of jibberish. Either way it's nothing to lose sleep over.


The Zombie - January 13, 2006 09:31 PM (GMT)
Hmm... I think I've gotten some stuff like that before. i just deleted it though.

Tilly - January 13, 2006 11:42 PM (GMT)
QUOTE (Hetman @ Jan 13 2006, 02:04 PM)
Try giving the ISP a message.

But please, for pete's sake, MAKE SURE you're complaining to the right person! Almost ALL spam has fake headers and fake return addys these days.

I used to have it so anything @creativeinsanity.net went to my e-mail, in case someone tried to contact me at something I didn't have set up, like webmaster or admin or whatever. Then some genius spammer decided to use "info@creativeinsanity.net" (which doesn't exist, only tilly@creativeinsanity.net does!) as a fake return addy...guess who got around 170 messages bounced back from automated systems that amounted to "omg stop sending spam", because people/programmers are too stupid to look for the *real* address in headers? Yeah, me. I turned off the catch-all thing before they got any worse, but it bugs me.

Bouncing back is a bad idea anyway. Even if you hit the real address, you'll just be proving someone exists at your address and making it so the spammer can sell it to people as working.

The Zombie - January 18, 2006 07:36 PM (GMT)
QUOTE (Hetman @ Jan 13 2006, 08:04 AM)
Try giving the ISP a message.

Doesn't that have bad effects?

ZeRoRaVeN - January 18, 2006 08:53 PM (GMT)
QUOTE (blackchaos13 @ Jan 18 2006, 02:36 PM)
QUOTE (Hetman @ Jan 13 2006, 08:04 AM)
Try giving the ISP a message.

Doesn't that have bad effects?

Usually no, most of the time they'll ignore you since almost all spam, at least those covered up smartly uses fake headers and sender addresses. It's ridiousily easy to do so, not that I ever have. :D

So simple, that a windows XP computer straight out of the box with no additional software, with a internet connect can do it.

The Zombie - January 18, 2006 09:03 PM (GMT)
QUOTE (ZeRoRaVeN @ Jan 18 2006, 02:53 PM)
Usually no, most of the time they'll ignore you since almost all spam, at least those covered up smartly uses fake headers and sender addresses. It's ridiousily easy to do so, not that I ever have. :D

So simple, that a windows XP computer straight out of the box with no additional software, with a internet connect can do it.

I've never done it myself, but a freind of mine was talking about it on MSN the other day. He didn't know whether something would happen if he did it or not and i got curious of it myself.




Hosted for free by InvisionFree