Title: Possible Spyware/Virus
Saint PhantomZero - October 30, 2007 01:03 AM (GMT)
It seems that we've come to a problem. The administrative team has received concerns about EXEW, containing Spyware and/or Viruses.
A particular member stated that they received a message stating that "You are entering a dangerous site." And another member said that they received a message stating that "This site may contain spyware."
Please, if you have any information regarding this issue, please tell us. Also, if your computer has been acting funny recently, please run a system check to see what's wrong.
Sero - October 30, 2007 02:27 AM (GMT)
IF is PMSing again. That's all I know.
In all seriousness, I think we're dealing with a single post here. I don't know which one, but it's got like total seeping spyware written on it.
Zero - October 30, 2007 03:36 AM (GMT)
Question, Sero. Do you only get the warning on certain pages or is it anywhere on EXEW?
Harem - October 30, 2007 03:37 AM (GMT)
Never effected me, but I know Rin said that her virus software caught something when she got on EXEW. You could ask her what happend with that.
Tanis Saidur - October 30, 2007 04:20 AM (GMT)
I'd have to know for certain what AntiVir's are catching the so-called 'spyware', but I'm sure that it's not that. Some AntiVir's will interpret broken links, or some ad's, as a virus or spyware, merely because it doesn't have the proper knowledge in it's databases.
My suggestion: Everyone check their sigs and avatars for broken links or pics and delete them. If the problem still continues, it's probably a new IF Ad has started circulating.
Sero - October 30, 2007 11:35 AM (GMT)
To Zero: Every link I click.
Zero - October 30, 2007 11:48 AM (GMT)
Can you get it to give you any more information about the issue?
Harem - October 30, 2007 05:58 PM (GMT)
Screen shot the window or whatever that pops up when you click a link, and post it here.
Feez - October 30, 2007 10:03 PM (GMT)
My AntiVir doesn't seem to be finding anything, and it automatically updates every day, so it must be a problems somewhere in some post.
Sero - October 30, 2007 10:46 PM (GMT)

Here's the mysterious address...
e2.extreme-dm.com/s1.g?login=exewjv=yj-ysrw-1280srb=32|=http%3A/z4.invisionfree.com/exewarriors
Zero - October 30, 2007 11:07 PM (GMT)
Going off the url, the best I can guess is that it's our tracker (the blue link at the bottom of the page). It's called eXtreme Tracker, so that makes some sense out of the url. My guess is that it confused its tracking of your system specs to be some sort of Spyware.
Tanis Saidur - October 30, 2007 11:12 PM (GMT)
Good job, Zero. That is the most likely answer. PC-cillin has been known to be retarded when it comes to IP loggers. As for how to fix your problem, there should be an internal database in the PC-cillin control panel that you can access to allow certain sites. I don't use PC-cillin that much, so you can consult Google if you need help.
Rossebay - November 1, 2007 01:08 AM (GMT)
I get this problem every time I refresh or change a page. It's so annoying. I just shut off the "DANGEROUS SITE" warnings.
Harem - November 1, 2007 03:45 AM (GMT)
Out of curiosity, what does that Tracker do? Is it needed? I'm fairly certain we don't have one at FEFF, so I'm not sure what it does. But if it is causing these problems, and doesn't do something useful or needed, it might be best to trash it.
Zero - November 1, 2007 04:24 AM (GMT)
It tracks various stats about how many people are visiting, where they're from, what operating system they use, what resolution they're on, etc. I suppose it is a form of spyware, but it's purely for informational purposes. You can click on the link and see for yourself. It's not absolutely necessary, but it's nice to be able to see how many hits your site is getting. Might help with affiliation, too.
Tanis Saidur - November 1, 2007 04:44 AM (GMT)
Spyware finders only think it's Spyware because it has an IP logger. It can't be helped, so the best thing is find your AntiVir's control panel, then the list of Sites Allowed or Deemed safe and add EXEW to the list.
Harem - November 1, 2007 06:03 PM (GMT)
I see. Personally, I don't think that is worth the trouble it is apparently giving members, but meh. Doesn't bother me either way.